Aftermath

The news of my lola’s passing still came quite of shock. She has been battling lung cancer for the past half year yet I still haven’t fully come into terms with the fact that she’ll be leaving us sooner or later. I was severely in denial.

My father rung me while I was with my friends at SM Makati Foodcourt. Everything was in slow-mo when he uttered these words:

“Wala na si lola.”

I felt like someone just dunked my head into a bucket of icy water. I stood frozen for a second and then broke down in front of a couple of my friends and a Jollibee crew. It wasn’t the most convenient place to receive such grave news–amid the loud chattering of diners and bright lights.

I’m thankful that I was with my close peers at a time like that; Their attempts to squeeze out a smile from me cushioned the impact. It was such a relief to talk to people who truly cares.

I miss my lola so much. ‘Miss’ is an understatement, actually. She was such a dear person to me and was a huge, HUGE part of who I am today.

Friends, please whisper a prayer for my lola. It’ll keep her company on her journey to her Creator.

Lola, I know you’re reading this kasi may unlimited Internet naman dyan sa heaven. I know God has already welcomed you with open arms and a spanking new laptop as a welcoming gift. Ni-request ko din kay God to set my blog as your Internet browser’s  homepage.

Anyway, I’ve said this to you and I will say it again: I LOVE YOU. I’ll always be your granddaughter and nothing can take that away from me.

3 Comments

Filed under Poignant

3 responses to “Aftermath

  1. Very sweet, dear. I’m sure your lola is very proud of you. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. *hugs *hugs *hugs

  2. This reminds me so much of my lola – *sigh… *hugs.

Leave a Reply

