Day 7 – A picture of someone that has the biggest impact on me

This one’s easy; If there is one person who helped me improve tremendously as a person, it’s the person you see below.

Photography is one of her many strong points

Other college professors teach because it’s “their job” to do so. The heart and passion isn’t there. Some wouldn’t even give a rat’s piss if their students learn or not. I even had this Chemistry professor who sold polvoron to us students in exchange of a ten-point additional to our final grade. Pathetic.

But this particular professor you see above surpasses the standards of teaching. I’m not saying she is the best-est of the best-est but you get my point. She has this teaching style that makes you sit up and listen not because you’re scared of her, but because she has something interesting and significant to say.

To her, grades are mere numbers that do not define a student’s intellect and potential. What’s important is that her students actually learn, understand, and remember the lessons even after the semester ends.

She is gentle, comical, and animated in and out of the classroom yet manages to draw a fine line when needed. Her humility regarding her brilliance is overwhelming. No other professor I know has that kind of power and influence on students.

I’m not saying this person dramatically changed my life. I did what a rational person would do to make things right about my life. I had choice, like everybody else, to listen and adapt her teachings. I chose to be a better Christian. I chose to be encouraged by her to think, question, and ponder the things that are happening around me. I chose to be inspired by her to be a better individual.

To me, she is more than a former college professor who taught the required subjects I had to complete. This is life we are talking about.  It’s been two years since I graduated from college but she’s still–and will always remain–my life mentor.

And that, my dear readers, is the kind of impact I desperately wish students would have with their teachers before they graduate.

Thank you, Ma’m Jen for the help. Maraming, maraming salamat po.

(Wondering what the 30-day Blog Challenge is? Click here.)

5 Comments

Filed under 30-Day Blog Challenge, Friends, Happy, Looking Back

5 responses to “Day 7 – A picture of someone that has the biggest impact on me

  1. Remember that blog you pressured me to finish 4 years ago? Haha! I miss those days when we were so hyped about her that we co-founded an imaginary organization back then. Hahaha ang mga bata nga naman talaga. 😀

  2. Parang contestant lang sa beauty pageant yung ending: “Maraming Salamat po!” haha

  3. Additional! Ika nga nila, “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires……”

  4. “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires……”

    Haha saktong sakto! Dejavu ito!

Leave a Reply

