Ex-loves

An episode of The List of Channel V last night was mirthfully nostalgic. I cannot remember the two hosts name but they were a couple of straight guys, giving their two cents about former western and Asian boy bands that dominated the sound waves a decade or two ago. They dissed almost all of the discussed gay, err, I mean, then-young male groups that once made us, ladies, worship them at some time of our lives.

I remember how I used to go into crazy hysterics whenever I saw Mark Feehily or Justin Timberlake on TV or any music channel. The Internet was not yet present then to gratify my fanatical cravings so I consoled myself in doing the following: bought their records (Original. On tape or CD.), made a scrapbook/collage of the band’s newspaper and magazine clippings, kept a picture of them in my wallet, screamed every time their music video was played, screamed again when their song was played on the radio, cried whenever they were linked to other women, and declared my undying love for them to every person I know.

And then I grew up. I stopped looking at them like they were Greek gods of Sexiness and Appeal. Now, I see them as not more than a bunch of phonies that make me feel sorry for them for trying to project a masculine image when inside of them, they were begging to get out their closets.

But those moves—those synchronized choreographed moves, the matching colored outfits, and the cutesy mannerisms they sport when the camera focuses on them—made us fall on our knees and asked them to marry us.

Here are the top five boy bands that I am embarrassingly admitting that I was mad about before:

  • N’SYNC – My friend in high school was madly in love with Lance Bass before. She even had her notebooks signed with a changed surname. I wonder what she felt when Bass declared his love for the same sex and quietly faded away in the background like the other band members. Justin Timberlake, on the other hand, is by far, has the most successful career to this day. Good switch from pop to hip hop and Rnb, bud.
  • BACKSTREET BOYS – They recently had a concert here in Manila and I regretted not coming. I regretted it not because I was still a fan, but I wanted to re-live their popular songs and get down to the ‘ol memory lane. I Want It That Way is a very memorable song for me; my grade school classmates and I performed a dance number in 6th grade and I can still remember some of the dance moves, actually.
  • WESTLIFE – If I found out that Mark Feehily was gay at the height of my adoration for him, I’d probably lock myself up in my room for a week. Their video, Uptown Girl, was my ultimate favorite. They couldn’t dance, though. Minus points for them in the boy band game.
  • 98 DEGREES – Nick Lachey, it was wrong to marry Jessica Simpson. You were obviously wrong for each other. You, two, proved us right when you cannibalized your own marriage in Newlyweds. But you know what’s right? You’re song, The Hardest Thing. It still rocks up to this moment.
  • F4Meteor Garden was a huge, huge hit here in the Philippines. The foursome shot straight up the music charts, all thanks to their perfectly coifed hair and pore less faces. Never mind the under-acting and lack of singing ability—they were the bomb! Personally, I only liked Vic Zhou. I can’t remember why, though.

There ya have it, folks! My top five bands that formerly made me swoon at every note they sang. Now it’s your turn to ‘fess up.

*All images used in this post are randomly selected from the Google image search engine.

8 Comments

Filed under Looking Back, Music

8 responses to “Ex-loves

  1. Okay, first I was one of those girls who has got their hearts broken because of Feehily’s and Bass’ revelations. Having a “bet” on boybands back then seems like a responsibility when you’re a kid. Friends were teasing me and I kept on fighting for them, telling them that those were only gossips. After that I’m having a hard time in choosing my next crush in their group. Disappointments were traumatizing, you know?

    I have BSB and 98 degrees’ songs in my iPod. I listen to it during those times that I just want stop growing up for a while.

    You forgot Boyzone and A1, though. I like them, too.

    • I was thinking of putting in Boyzone pero Stephen Gately is dead na, diba? And I was alone in the room at 3 A.M. Was scared. Haha!

      Kainis yan si Mark Feehily eh. Lalake pala gusto.

  2. Hahaha! ‘Enjoyed this article, Aratot! Tama si Vergic, you forgot Boyzone and A1 and 5ive! Hahaha! Buti na lang die-hard ako ni Shane at hindi ni Mark ng Westife. Badtrip lang kasi nabaliw ako kay Lance Bass before. 😦

    Gawa ka nga article about M2M. Namiss ko sila eh. Sumulat pako sa kanila dati eh. Hahahaha!

    • Ayoko ng Boyzone masyado eh. Haha! Tsaka yung A1, medyo nawweirduhan ako kay Ben. Pero cuto naman sya dati. =)

      Ano naman sinulat mo sa M2M?! Nagustuhan ko sila nung kinanta nila ng OST ng Pokemon. Haha!

  3. Nagustuhan ni Claudine yung “Pretty Boy” ng M2M kasi kanta nya yun kay Lance Haha!

    Favorite ko sa kanila dati yung “The Day You Went Away”, gustong-gusto kong yung part na “I remember date and time, September twenty second, Sunday, twenty five after nine…”

    Wala, ang sarap kantahin eh.

    At shempre bago M2M, Spice Girls muna!

    • Naalala ko pa dati, ni-rent ko pa sa Video City yung movie nilang Spice World. Tapos lagi kong inaabangan sa MTV yung song nila na Stop with matching singing along and doing the moves.

      Pinaka-favorite ko si Sporty SPpice kasi feeling ko pareho kami. Boyish kasi ako noon. 🙂

  4. Basta ako si Ginger Spice, okay? Girl Power!!

Leave a Reply

